The end of an era

13 Jul

On Saturday the 15th, I end a long period of service on the board of directors of the ACLU of Indiana. I first joined the board in 1992, maybe 1993. I served two years, 1997 and 1998, as its president. Since then my level of activity has waned, and it’s time to leave.

Fortunately, my colleagues on the board want to keep me around in some capacity, so they have asked me to join the ACLU of Indiana Advisory Council. I join a couple of my former board colleagues and I am quite honored to serve on the council with Kurt Vonnegut.

So, I look at the end of my term with wistfulness. I will miss my colleagues, but new blood and fresh perspectives are healthy for the organization. And I’ll enjoy watching it flourish.

Leave a Reply

