A few thoughts on Falwell’s passing

22 May

Generally, I never had many good things to say about Jerry Falwell. Being an ACLU member, it didn’t quite sit right with me when he blamed the ACLU, among others, for helping the 9/11 attacks to happen. But even before then, in the 1980s, when he went to the aparteid government of South Africa and proclaimed it to be a good thing, that soured me as well.

The editorial cartoonists have been having a field day with Falwell’s death, and it may be fair.

But I’m not going to add onto the pile. Do I weep at his passing, no. Do I feel bad for his family? I feel bad for any family that loses a loved one, even if the guy may not be on my Christmas card list.

But out of respect for a virtue that Falwell found it hard to practice–tolerance–I will not say anything harsh about him. He was wrong about many things, sometimes cruely so. But my hope is that somewhere inside there was a core of sincerity that drove him, a desire to do the right thing, even though I think it was the wrong thing.

Do I believe Jerry Falwell is in hell? I would hope not. If he truly regretted mistakes that he made, the hurtful things he said about other people, and he has made it to heaven, then that means there is hope for the rest of us imperfect people. If Jerry Falwell can be welcomed in heaven, then surely we can too.

One Response to “A few thoughts on Falwell’s passing”

  1. Winslie Gomez May 22, 2007 at 5:03 pm #

    Good thoughts.
    thanks
    winslie

Leave a Reply

