Enviro-Blogging-Monday

15 Oct

Blog Action Day Well, it’s not officially Enviro-Blogging-Monday, but today is the day bloggers are supposed to blog about the environment. The timing is good, because my local newspaper featured a letter to the editor written by someone who is probably having spasms since Al Gore was named a co-winner of the Nobel Prize for Peace. Paul Krugman has a very nice column about what drives the right wing bat-excrement crazy about Al Gore.

So…what is it about the environment I’m most passionate about? I don’t know that I can answer that question. I know what worries and depresses me: no matter how much I do, it’s not enough. On an episode of the Colbert Report last week, one of the guests explained that every 30 minutes in this country, we’re throwing away an unbelievable number of recyclable aluminum cans. The figure is like 163,000 every 30 minutes.

Big deal if I’m recycling my aluminum cans. The odds are that most of the people I will encounter today will not do it.

And that’s what bothers me. It’s not that tossing my Diet Coke can in a recycling bin is a big inconvenience–it’s clearly not. But if my efforts are going to be undone by the person in the office next to me, it can be downright discouraging.

I’ll continue to recycle my aluminum cans, wine bottles, newspapers, etc. because it’s the right thing to do. And I do have to say that a lot of my neighbors put a good amount of stuff out every other Tuesday for our county’s recyling program–there are signs of hope out there, but there’s still so much more to do.

Please do me a favor–make me feel better by recycling as much as you can, replacing a light bulb or two with compact fluorescents, driving a bit less, etc. You can make me feel even better (and feel better yourself) by persuading your friends and neighbors to do the same.

Leave a Reply

