U2 fans–I am the dumbest in the whole world

11 Sep

Quite a few people have heard this story before, but I am still beating myself up over it, so here goes.

I’m a U2 fan. Do I memorize every minute detail? No. But I really enjoy their music. I’ve listened actively since about 1984 and have loved almost every minute of it. (Pop took a while to grow on me.)

Back in 2001, U2 announced they would kick off the second leg of their North American tour by playing the Joyce Center at the University of Notre Dame. My wife worked for the athletic department at the time, so she could get tickets in advance. We were psyched beyond being psyched. A small venue. U2. Advance tickets.

Then I realized the concert was on the same night I had to teach a class at Indiana University South Bend. So I told Catherine to take a friend. And I went ahead and taught the class.

I could have just canceled it.

The program director all but called me a moron (she was at the concert).

I am as dumb as a bag of hammers. I should have canceled that class.

I am stupid.

I am dumb.

Here we are, nine years later, and I STILL can’t get over it.

DUMB! DUMB! DUMB!

I was fortunate enough to see U2 live in Chicago in 2005 on the Vertigo tour. It was an incredible show. I don’t know I’ll get to see them again–$250 a seat in 2010 is getting way beyond ridiculous. I loved the ’05 show. I’d love to see them again.

But I am so dumb. I should have canceled that class. Rescheduled it. Found a sub. Anything.

Guys–could you maybe swing back through Notre Dame again? Help out a dumb guy whose mother’s maiden name is Duffy, whose roots go way back into Celtic families? Please?

Leave a Reply

